TMG researches equitable transformation pathways for a sustainable future of food systems

The project team explores the meaning of the much-used phrase “food systems transformation” by applying a systematic approach to find transformative solutions at all scales. By analysing some of the challenges as well as drivers of transformation, we aim to bridge existing knowledge gaps around the concept of food system transformation.

What we do

Despite increasing international attention and calls for food systems transformation, it remains unclear what transformation means in the different contexts, how it can be achieved and how seeming trade-offs between policies or various sustainability goals can be overcome. TMG aims to address these knowledge gaps by undertaking new research activities.

Expert workshops

TMG, in collaboration with an extended group of experts, will convene a series of workshops to discuss and develop a systemic understanding of food systems transformation.

Strategic reports

Consultation with experts and regional thought leaders will result in three strategic reports portraying the state of the debate, key actors and drivers, and strategies for concrete political and structural pathways to transformation.

High-level consultations

Research findings on food system transformation will be presented at international events. The goal is that decision makers from the political, civil society and business spheres will use the expert group’s analysis to shape blueprints for concrete food system transformation pathways.

Olivia Riemer image
Olivia Riemer Project Coordinator Send email
Sarah Zitterbarth Junior Research Associate Send email

Curious?

Do you have any questions or suggestions of your own? Then be our guest. Share your ideas with us to help this project reach its goal. Let’s get to know each other.

TMG erforscht gerechte Transformationspfade für eine nachhaltige Zukunft der Ernährungssysteme

Das Projektteam erforscht die Bedeutung des viel verwendeten Begriffs „Transformation von Ernährungssystemen“, indem es einen systematischen Ansatz anwendet, um transformative Lösungen auf allen Ebenen zu finden. Durch die Analyse von Herausforderungen und Triebkräften der Transformation wollen wir die bestehenden Wissenslücken rund um das Konzept der Transformation von Ernährungssystemen schließen.

Unsere Aufgabenbereiche

Trotz der zunehmenden internationalen Aufmerksamkeit und des Rufs nach einer Transformation der Ernährungssysteme ist nach wie vor unklar, was Transformation in den verschiedenen Kontexten bedeutet, wie sie erreicht werden kann und wie scheinbare Widersprüche zwischen politischen Maßnahmen oder verschiedenen Nachhaltigkeitszielen überwunden werden können. TMG zielt darauf ab, diese Wissenslücken durch neue Forschungsaktivitäten zu schließen.

Expert*innen-Workshops

TMG wird in Zusammenarbeit mit einer erweiterten Gruppe von Expert*innen eine Reihe von Workshops durchführen, um ein systemisches Verständnis der Transformation von Ernährungssystemen zu diskutieren und zu entwickeln.

Strategische Berichte

Die Konsultation von Expert*innen und regionalen „thought-leaders“ wird zu drei strategischen Berichten führen, in denen der Stand der Debatte, die wichtigsten Akteure und Triebkräfte sowie Strategien für konkrete politische und strukturelle Transformationspfade dargestellt werden.

High-level Konsultationen

Die Forschungsergebnisse zur Transformation der Ernährungssysteme werden auf internationalen Veranstaltungen vorgestellt. Ziel ist es, dass Entscheidungsträger*innen aus Politik, Zivilgesellschaft und Wirtschaft die Analysen der Expert*innengruppe nutzen, um Entwürfe für konkrete Wege zur Transformation der Ernährungssysteme zu entwickeln.

Olivia Riemer image
Olivia Riemer Projekt Koordinatorin E-Mail senden
Sarah Zitterbarth Junior Research Associate E-Mail senden

Neugierig geworden?

Sie haben Fragen oder eigene Anregungen? Dann lassen Sie Ihrer Neugierde im Gespräch mit uns freien Lauf. Der gemeinsame Austausch bringt uns alle ein Stück weiter. Und darauf freuen wir uns.